DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Bloodshot Volume 1: Setting the World on Fire
Publisher: Valiant Comics
by Scott V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2018 15:49:26

Bloodshot volume 1 is a decent opening to this series. The art like almost all of the Valiant books is top notch. The story in this first volume is decent and I am sure that future instalments will build on what is laid here. Overall, for the four issues contained herein I wold say it's worth a read. Not Valiant's best work but a solid start all the same.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodshot Volume 1: Setting the World on Fire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Archer & Armstrong Volume 1: The Michelangelo Code
Publisher: Valiant Comics
by Scott V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2018 21:09:19

This was my first foray into Valiant and I was very suprised. At first the overall plot I wasn't really feeling but by the end of this volume I am deffiently hooked and look forward to seeing where the story goes. Will need to check out further titles from Valiant as well. Excellent stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Archer & Armstrong Volume 1: The Michelangelo Code
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Flesh & Steel (Graphic Novel)
Publisher: Caliber Comics
by Scott V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2017 19:58:51

FANTASTIC! From the writing by Shawn Kang to the beautiful art by Ernani Faraon this book was stunning. The art was crisp and brought the story to llife. The story bein from the Golem legend of old was superb in its execution.

Simply put I can't think of a reason to NOT pick this up. Do yourself a favor and get it right now. It's eight dollars more than well spent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flesh & Steel (Graphic Novel)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Heroes and Horrors
Publisher: Caliber Comics
by Scott V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2017 18:35:01

This collection of rare and hard to find stories from Steven Philip Jones is supberb. The nine stories included are of a varity of styles and genres. The only turn off for some is that the book is in black and white. However, if you are looking for some origianl easy to digest stories with excellent art it's a solid collection for the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes and Horrors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Idolized Volume 1
Publisher: Aspen Comics
by Scott V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2017 23:41:05

This surprised me. I didn't expect to like it as much as I did. The basic premise of a reality show to choose the next superhero sounded very thin. However, I loved the character development that the 6 issues contained. That goes for all of the show contestants not just Leslie. Each by the end is their own person and you see decent growth in them as characters. Like other Aspen books the art is solid. Another nod to the names of each issue being superhero takes on song titles was great.

The only issue I had was the thin depiction of Stasis the main villain. He felt very one dimensional. Even just a small bit of his back story aside from how Leslie viewed him would have gone a long way to make the rivalry and eventual showdown between them more powerful.

All in all I ended up really enjoying this. It's a great origin story with great art, decent characters and overall solid and original plot. For the price you could do a lot worse than Idolized.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Idolized Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Four Points Volume 1
Publisher: Aspen Comics
by Scott V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2017 14:22:09

The idea of the trade is solid. The four points or elements face off against the four horsemand of the apolocolpyse. The art is good and vibrant and the inks are well done. The issue is with the story execution. It has potential. Perhaps if it was an ongoing series we could see some more development for the main characters. The Four Horseman don't come off much better. They are introduced and delt with in the span of a few pages and the battle at the end feels rushed. Overall, if there is more to this series like say an on-going title I would give it a try to at least see some growth. The trade though is only okay.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Four Points Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

G.I. Joe: Special Missions Volume 1
Publisher: IDW Publishing
by Scott V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2017 15:22:53

Speical Missions Volume 1 brings us the 4 part story "Crush Depth" written by Chuck Dixion with art by Paul Gulacy and colors by Aburton and Grafislava. The story pits the special forces team lead by Scarlet and Mainframe against the Baroness. I really enjoyed this one and for a number of reasons. Among them are the art, which I don't know how IDW decides on their arist and colorists but DAMN! They know how to pick them. The majority of the story taking place on the high seas splashes off the page becuse of the art. From the high winds and crashing waves to the tense undersea crushing pressure it all is vibrant and wonderfully done. The plot by Chuck Dixion is great. Even if you are not famiiar with the Special Forces team of G.I.Joe they are introduced well and each have a distinct enough personailty. The banter between them each is well written and doesn't come off cliche or forced. Also, it's niice to see a woman in charge of things. I really enjoyed Scarlett or as as she prefers to be call "Red" a lot. She is a strong leader and I would like to read more stories focused on her. The Baroness is a good villian overall. I would like to know more about her backstory. Howerver the way she is playing to get back into the good graces of Cobra is an intersting plot which leads me to wonder what happened to fall out of favor with them in the first place. For cons the only thing I could say is as with most IDW trades it only has 4 issues. Howerver, I will say that for the price point its about right and it makes it easy to read in a single sitting. I will be getting volume 2 for sure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
G.I. Joe: Special Missions Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Magic: The Gathering Volume 1
Publisher: IDW Publishing
by Scott V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2017 21:14:41

It's been a while since I really played magic. Back when I played I do't recall there being Planeswalkers. I don't see myself getting back into the game after reading this first volume either. With that being said I do see myslef intrigued by the world of Magic: The Gathering. The art here is nice and crisp. Each of the different planes has it's own feel and they pop off the page. Innistrad espically was beutifully colored. Many kudos to Martin Coccolo for the art and J. Edwin Stevens for the colors. For plot it's okay. Dak Fayden is a Planeswalker and he has stolen an item and this has caused many people to be less than happy with him about it. Avoiding spoliers I will say that the pacing could have been a bit better, at times the action was overly rushed and I had to force myself to slow down and actually take in what was happening. Parts of the plot also are basic in their exection. So, while elements of the story were formulaic in their execution it was an enjoyable read. Fans of Magic will enjoy this. The art is good The story is decent and even as an old Magic fan I see the secod volume being picked up in the near future to see what happens next.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Magic: The Gathering Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Joan of Arc, Protocol Game Series 3
Publisher: post world games
by Scott V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2016 16:19:14

This was the the first game we played in the Protocol game series. This is a very fun and tense game. The story played out with many plot twits and was all around a blast. With the card drawing mechanic that the game engine runs on it ensures that no game will be played out the same. I can't recommend this game or series of games enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Joan of Arc, Protocol Game Series 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Dying Memoryes, GMZero RPG 2
Publisher: post world games
by Scott V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2016 22:34:37

This was my groups first GMless game and we had a blast. All of us had a great time and it was a very deep story with some fantastic role playing moments. Even the scenes that were very short had such a sense of forbidding and weight. Then when we the first of us became aware! Adding in the external details took the game to another level. This was a great game and i highly recomend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dying Memoryes, GMZero RPG 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates