DriveThruComics.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Logan's Run Omnibus
by Test f. B. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2015 05:43:39

I was pleased to find this title available as I had missed some of the ongoing issues from this series and wanted to catch up without having to buy individual issues. Sadly, it is not the complete 'Omnibus' I had hoped it would be, but instead, ends on an almighty cliffhanger. This was a big disappointment for me as I had erroneously assumed it would be the whole comic book saga. Hitting the ''To Be Concluded' message on the last page had me flipping back and forward through the comic to see if I had jumped over 'Black Flower' by accident. Apparently this is a forthcoming title in the series.

Technically, the book is superb. Crystal clear art and vibrant colours abound. My only criticism of the art is that it varies dramatically over the course of the collection; starting in 'Lastday' with the crisp, tight and beautiful images by Gete, Baker and Lowe, shifting to a more gritty and rough style in issues (chapters) 5 and 6. Jacob Bear replacing Daniel Gete and Joseph Baker for these two issues.

'Aftermath' ushers in a new story and another artistic team; Phillip Simpson and Bernie Lee. Simpson changes the look of the Logan Universe yet again, opting for almost an oil on canvas style and very elongated characters. I liked it, but nowhere near as much as Daniel Gete's intricate style used in the first four issues (chapters). It did Simpson no favours to bring in another team to handle the flashback sequence told in issue 4 (Chapter 10) of 'Aftermath' (Mike Dorman and Aurelio Alfonso) and have them emulate Gete's style, with pages apparently done by Simpson bookending the chapter. Issue 5 (Chapter 11) sees further changes with Angel Luis Bernuy and Juan Francisco Martin taking the artistic helm. Their work echoes the last two installments of 'Lastday', being far rougher, almost naive. The same applies to issue 6 (Chapter 12) with Carsten Biernat and Jesse Heagy, though to a far lesser extent. There is more evidence of a tighter, neater form which is necessary in the man made environments portrayed.

'Solo', the only One-Shot in the Logan's Run Bluewater Comics run, is a well written, tense retelling of the 'Little War' and the events leading up to the establishment of the new order under control of the Thinker(s) from a new perspective. It also cleverly lays some groundwork for 'Rebirth', the next multi issue title in the series.

'Rebirth' is the first story in this series of comics that deviates almost entirely from William F. Nolan's Trilogy of Logan novels. It too is well written, but suffers from changing artists for almost every issue. I found this problematic in that characters did not maintain the same look through out. As this story is more of an ensemble piece, playing 'who's who' becomes essential to keeping up.

As far as the story goes, I have no criticism. The writing team (including William F. Nolan) certainly respect the source material, and while there are some profound deviations made from the original novels, I can understand that these changes were rather necessary in order for the narrative to remain consistent.

While it may sound as though I'm being overly critical of the artists involved in the series, I'm really not meaning that. The point I'm trying to make is more of a personal preference issue. I really do prefer an ongoing comic title to maintain a consistent style. Daniel Gete set a very high bar at the outset, and I feel the later issues would have been far more enjoyable, for me at least, if the artists had tried to follow in the footsteps of those that had come before. I certainly don't mean copy their work exactly, but at least get closer than they did.

Overall, this collection is worth the money. It does collect all the currently available issues in this title, but is NOT a complete story (which an Omnibus really should be). If you don't own all the issues, this is certainly a more cost effective way to catch up. It even beats the price of the previously released TPBs and One-Shot.

If you are a fan of Logan's ongoing run, I would definitely recommend picking this up.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Logan's Run Omnibus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Space Women Beyond the Stratosphere Trade
by Jeffrey C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2015 13:13:59

They're charging TEN BUCKS for this crap? While I respect the authors' intent on revisiting a 50's schlock classic, the story is a mess even for what it's attempting to do. The dialogue is laden with typos, the characterization is sloppy, and the artwork tends toward mediocre (don't let the cover fool you, that appealing chibi style appears nowhere in the book).

Altogether, the whole comic just seems rushed, like the authors just didn't have time to smooth out all their ideas before shoving it out and asking an unconscionable amount of money for it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Space Women Beyond the Stratosphere Trade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Orbit: JRR Tolkien: The True Lord of the Rings
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2015 11:42:42

Nice little graphic biography based on Tolkien's life. I think it is quite informative and taught me a good many things about the great man. The graphics are done in a style that are deliberately vague as if to evoke memories of days gone by. At $1.99, this is well worth the purchase for anyone wondering who Tolkien was and how he came to write his masterpieces.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orbit: JRR Tolkien: The True Lord of the Rings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Dirk Benedict in the 25th Century #0
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2014 05:00:55

Dirk Benedict roving around in space fighting robots is an interesting idea for a comic. However, I can never unsee the 1980s glam shot of hairy chested Dirk Benedict in overalls. If that's your thing, of course, more power to you.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dirk Benedict in the 25th Century #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Sherlock Holmes: Victorian Knights Trade
by Eddy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2014 21:05:48

A compilation of the four-issue series, "Sherlock Holmes: Victorian Knights" seems to be inspired by the recent Guy Ritchie films. The story draws details from the original stories without being too closely committed to any of them. Holmes and Watson bicker and argue, and a few times the writing is laugh-out-loud funny. The art is good and the PDF quality is clear.

If you aren't a stickler for fidelity to the original canon, this is an entertaining romp.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sherlock Holmes: Victorian Knights Trade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Spaced Out #0
by Bee B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2014 19:39:11

Beautifully drawn, full of animated character and dynamics but very very short, barely got started before it stopped and showed many pages of sketches.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Spaced Out #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Alice in Wonderland's Queen of Hearts #0
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:59:41

The art is nice. Five pages is short for preview, but the writer is smart enough to focus it on an aspect of the main character so it almost feels like an origin story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Alice in Wonderland's Queen of Hearts #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Ray Harryhausen Presents: Wrath of the Titans #1
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:59:02

The art is nice, but my pdf copy is missing all the text for the story.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ray Harryhausen Presents: Wrath of the Titans #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Ray Harryhausen Presents: War of the Elementals #0
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:58:27

Not so good art, and other than the fact it's set in WWI doesn't really say much about the characters or coming story. The cover and some of the additional art indicates they will be fighting monsters which would have made for a better preview.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ray Harryhausen Presents: War of the Elementals #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Ray Harryhausen Presents: Sinbad Rogue of Mars #1
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:57:49

The art is okay, but the story feels like a John Carter of Mars pastiche, although it does develop an interesting twist as regards the prophecy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ray Harryhausen Presents: Sinbad Rogue of Mars #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Ray Harryhausen Presents: Sinbad Rogue of Mars #0
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:57:15

Okay art, but the story feels more like a John Carter of Mars pastiche.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ray Harryhausen Presents: Sinbad Rogue of Mars #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Ray Harryhausen Presents: Preview
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:56:39

Wrath of the Titans - Art is nice, good set-up

Sinbad Rogue of Mars - Okay art, but the story feels more like a John Carter of Mars pastiche.

The Tortoise and The Hare - Nice cartoony art & a nice retelling of the Aesop's Fable.

Flying Saucers Vs. the Earth - The art does not appeal to me. The figures are too stiff and somebody messed around with too many art filters to make it look different.

It Came From Beneath The Sea... Again! - Art's okay, interesting set-up.

Jason & the Argonauts - Okay art, doesn't really say much about what the story will be though.

The Elementals - Not so good art, and other than the fact it's set in WWI doesn't really say much about the characters or coming story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ray Harryhausen Presents: Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

William F. Nolan's Logan's Run #0
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:55:08

Art's nice. The six-page preview has a tough job, though since it has to focus on Logan as the killer he starts the story off as, which makes it tough to feel any sympathy for him.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
William F. Nolan's Logan's Run #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Ray Harryhausen Presents: Flying Saucers Vs. the Earth #0
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:52:48

The art does not appeal to me. The figures are too stiff and somebody messed around with too many art program filters to make it look different. The five pages of story could be better.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Ray Harryhausen Presents: Flying Saucers Vs. the Earth #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

10th Muse #0
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:50:55

Nice art, but the story doesn't say much about what the series will be about, although it does flesh out some of the characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
10th Muse #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 41 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates