DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Dinner Party
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 19:23:21

I can't believe I've never read anything like this before. An adventuring party with some free time goes to dinner. What would they talk about? What would they eat? This was funny as it was informative. Reading about this dinner party made them seem very real. The author did a great job with this story and I look forward to reading more by him.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dinner Party
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Brown Dragon (A Monster for 5th Edition)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2018 15:17:15

I love dragons and the Brown might be my new favorite. How can you not love a very social dragon that wants to rule and traces back it's lineage to the primordial serpents as a matter of pride. They even want to be seen as fair by their subjects, but are Lawful Evil. They must be a riot to Game Master.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brown Dragon (A Monster for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Forgotten Children (Five Heroic Characters for BASH)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 17:27:49

These are some extremely detailed characters and strangely realistic. You can almost imagine them in real life, except for the superpowers, of course. They seem fairly balanced as a team with some fantastic possibilities for roleplaying, inter-team dynamics and some really funny, witty back-and-forth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Forgotten Children (Five Heroic Characters for BASH)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

100 Oddities for a Found Car
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2018 16:03:23

I've recently gotten into the Oddities books. Are they all this good? One entry will have you laughing your butt off and then next one is so weird and off the wall you kind of want to wash your hands and forget you read it. This is definately Game Master gold.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Found Car
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Kinder (Four Villainous Characters for BASH)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2018 13:19:40

This is a really great concept for villian generation. I love them, especially Darklord. DARKLORD!!! Thank you to the BASH superhero roleplaying game people for publishing these four villians. I'm always curious after seeing a character in action in a video or something to see it's official stats. So thanks again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Kinder (Four Villainous Characters for BASH)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Vintage Clipart: Fantasy Volume 2
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2018 16:00:13

These old prints are great. I'm going to use them in a book on magic I'm trying to write and make look "old-fashioned". Thanks to Shirmisher for putting them out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vintage Clipart: Fantasy Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creatures of the Wastelands: Mutational Evolution
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/02/2018 10:34:20

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This bestiary clocks in at 54 pages, 2 pages of editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of advertisements, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 48 pages of content. The front- and back-cover are provided in their own pdf and thus are not part of this tally.

This pdf was sponsored by one of my patreons and moved up in my queue as a prioritized review.

All right, this pdf, while intended for use with Mutant Future, is easily usable in pretty much any OSR-game…IF you have Mutant Futures. (Preferably also Creatures of the Wastelands.) I strongly suggest getting at least the Mutant Future parent book before checking this out – without it, only the methodology and basics of the critters herein will be usable and the respective monsters lose a bit of their depths and plausibility. (And its art-free version is FREE!) Form-wise, we get no. encountered, alignment, 30’ base movement rates, descending AC, and saves are denoted by L + a number – e.g. “L4” – which translates to a character of 4th level; apart from requiring the parent book, adaption is, as a whole, quick and painless.

The bestiary knows a couple of special attack tricks: Acid needs contact with skin and may be taken off by using special substances; once contact is made, no subsequent attack roll is required to inflict damage. Swarming animals and similar creatures may cause confusion, which means you roll, with one of 3 results: Attack the attackers, attack your allies or flail uselessly around. A bit more differentiation would have been nice here. Monsters capable of flight may execute dive attacks, their equivalent of charges. These inflict double damage and on a roll of 18+ and sufficient size provided, the monster can grab and carry off the attacked creature. That is a bit weird, as theoretically, superbly-armored creatures that couldn’t be hit by an 18 would be carried off RAW. On another note, dive attacks are usually not necessarily executed to carry off prey – at least not by all animals. A crush to the ground option would have been neat.

Paralysis duration is standardized at 2d4 turns and the pdf knows 20 classes of poison, which you get, collated, in the back of the book – this list also is d%-friendly for randomly determining the class. Radiation is categorized in 10 classes, with escalating damage and half damage on a successful save. This would be once more an area where I wished that the book sported a bit more differentiation and unique effects. Radiation, as provided here, mainly boils down to damage, though 7 sample mutations are provided -still, this imho would have been a nice way to expand the Mutant Futures-material beyond reference.

Where applicable, less intelligent creatures will have 1d6 +2 WIL, while intelligent adversaries will have 3d6 WIL; super-smart critters may have 2d6 + 9 WIL. Regarding terms, “aggregate” is used to denote a creature fused from multiple beings (or via parasites/symbiosis); base stock denotes the unmutated base critters; elder people are the pre-cataclysm humans; “instar” is the immature stage in the life cycle of insects and plant creatures and the shattered lands are the places where so many weapons struck, only a desolate wasteland remained.

Now, one of the strengths of mutant future would lie within the concept of mutation and how to visualize it: Here, this is provided in a handy, applied manner, via family trees: Subsequent mutations and drawbacks are accumulated and further developed – basically, this is the big unique selling point of this book: While most make-am-monster-books focus on generating a single, odd critter, this one instead focuses on establishing families and genera, adding a sense of biological plausibility to the material within. Indeed, this premise is not just a pretense, but rather a crucial component of the book and its appeal; this sense of authenticity represents one of the best aspects of the supplement.

This btw. extends to the concept of how to portray mutant herds and how accelerated evolution influences the dispersal etc. of the mutants. The creatures themselves, as mentioned before, are organized by family trees – and it should be noted that a few of the creatures sport unique mutations. Furthermore, the design-process of the creatures takes survivability-enhancing factors into account – i.e. better senses, natural armor, etc. are included. Among house sparrow, we can find little creatures that tag targets for others; there are birds that have developed sharp spines. There are birds that can camouflage as giant bees and that can regenerate bodyparts. Where one generation has often bled out, subsequent critters developed tougher skin and aberrant form as well as a lashing tongue; an alternate evolution instead focused on generating colonies with warning shrieks – the further along the generational line we go, the stranger and weirder the critters become. This, ultimately, is perhaps one of the best aspects of this book – by applying logic and some tweaking, it teaches by example on how to potentially develop your own array of truly strange and creative critters.

Beyond the aforementioned bird family, I particularly enjoyed the stinging nettle family – think of them as animated nettles that wail when struck…and that’s generation 1 for you. There is also a lab accident here – a nettle with human eyes and flesh spliced in. Weak. Vulnerable. And prone to throwing FIRE. A lot. Yes, you should not approach that nightmarish plant. Surprise. Yes, it gets weirder. Moving plants. Some that generate misty force fields. And some that sport mouths. Many, toothy mouths. What could be worse? Well, what about flying ones? Or nettles that make their stinging hairs airborne and highly toxic? Yeah, a fun time was had by everyone at that picnic…

Feather scrubs are plants that burrow into…things. Soil. Trees…etc. – When you approach, they like to supplement their diet with protein, by means of lance-like roots…or by becoming plant-mines. Oh, and sentience, hijacking and animating plants – the evolution sketched here sent a shiver down my spine and a smile to my face. The family is interesting, cool, and intensely creepy.

The final and largest family herein deals with wasps – beyond the usual, firebombs, web-using variants…what abot tunnel-dwelling, tentacle-headed wasps? Yeah, creeps you out, right? It goes further and further here, resulting into aquatic variants, vampiric wasps and weirder critters still.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no undue accumulation of hiccups. Layout adheres to a 2-column b/w-standard sans frills or grand graphical elements, making the pdf pretty printer-friendly, if not too aesthetically-pleasing. The b/w-artworks provided for some, but not all creatures, are generally okay, if nothing that will get most folks too excited. The pdf comes bookmarked with detailed bookmarks for the respective headers, but not for individual creatures. The book and cover-pdf come in two versions – one high-res (better for printing) and one low-res (better for electronic devices).

Derek Holland and the Skirmisher Game Development Group deliver a book that I ended up liking a LOT more than I figured I would. While I would have loved to see a bit more in the vein of expanding the mutations and attacks beyond the already impressive array of the parent book, I really enjoy the book not necessarily for its creatures (though I did end up smiling a lot while reading the entries!), but for the applied mutation paradigm, for the design-school employed here; with some tweaking, the referee can gainfully apply this strange biology beyond the confines of this book. We have a supplement that teaches by example and does so in a rather impressive manner.

The content here is really neat and made me wish that the book offered a bit more on the aesthetics side as well; however, I have always prioritized content over presentation and the content that is here is really, really neat – hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up for the purpose of this platform…with one caveat: Sans the parent book/and/or a willingness to work with it, you should detract a start and round down instead. You should definitely be familiar with Mutant Futures – while advertised as Labyrinth Lord stand-alone compatible, the critters would lose a TON of their appeal sans Mutant Futures’ rules.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of the Wastelands: Mutational Evolution
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Compost Heap
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2017 20:36:38

This game might have been written for a younger audience in mind, but this game is absolutely hilarious for the adult as well. Especially, if you're an eco-minded composter yourself. More than one screaming laugh was heard while playing this game. Buy this if you want a light-hearted fun game for a party.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Compost Heap
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Return of Cyris Crane (Cthulhu Live)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2017 04:10:58

Live action roleplaying has always intimidated me. All those rules and on top of that you have to act out the parts of the story. The Return of Cyris Crane is so simple and self-explanatory that it takes all the anxiety away from playing and it just leaves the fun. Everything is included with this along with ideas for the "monster", Cyris Crane. If you are a beginner in live action roleplaying then I recommend you start with this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Return of Cyris Crane (Cthulhu Live)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Black Hat Magic
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2017 09:36:55

Oh my, GODS! A chill of horror ran up my spine as I read the first page. I almost exclusively play magic users and to think I could copy a spell into my spell book and that spell could infect the rest of my spells is a wizards worst nightmare. Even a funny "virus" could ruin a wizards reputation. Imagine the embarrassment of going to your local wizard shop after such an infection. I don't know if I should thank Skirmisher for the excellent role playing experience or hide this supplement from my Game Master. Thanks alot, Skirmisher.....



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Hat Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Festivals & High Holy Days
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2017 16:10:53

I got Festivals and High Holy Days and it has already given me great ideas. It will only increase immersion and not feel like min/maxing with the cool power boosts at the various sacred times. My druid will definately be keeping his eye on the next Harvest Festival. My thanks to Skirmisher for this great, fun tool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Festivals & High Holy Days
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

100 Oddities for a Hung Stocking
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2017 22:53:27

Lol, I have no idea how to use this in my current campaign, but had to get it anyway. I enjoy these 100 oddities series both for their wit and creativity, and this one is just right for the season. The treats included in this chart are clever reinventions of things you might see around a fantasy yule tree, in a wooden shoe, or in the sack of a slain red-hatted, chimney dwelling demon. Possible use that I came up with while writing this, have your PCs give gifts to each other secretly rolling on this chart to see what they give to each other and make them validate the choice of the gift giving, especially if they rolled 00.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Hung Stocking
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

100 Oddities for a Sewer
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2017 22:53:21

Lol, there's something about this series that is just fun to read through even if not using every idea in this book. The artwork is great, the charts work, the seeds can lead to some great color for an encounter or an adventure itself. 94, easily the most unnerving thing I can imagine happening while investigating any of the other roll results. Great series, keep em coming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Sewer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Customer Appreciation [BUNDLE]
by Anne T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2017 22:16:27

A tremendously generous bundle for Skirmisher Publishing's fans, followers, and potential customers, that has somehow cycled through 13-15 products instead of just the ten mentioned in the description at any one time. I was thrilled to see the 5E supplement Aigyptos, and then again when the Cardstock Characters for 5E Ethiopia appeared. Time to weave in more ideas into my upcoming home campaign! The bundle has also included quite a few products that I'd not considered trying out before, but now will enjoy reading. And I'll definitely be completing my collection of 5E material from Skirmisher once this bundle is over and done with at last. I've picked up quite a few things over the years from them, but I've never been quite so blown over by such customer appreciation from a company before!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Customer Appreciation [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

100 Oddities for a Sewer
by Wilfredo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2017 11:19:09

Once again Skirmisher has produced another useful, high-quality gaming product. The only problem I can think of is that most people might not be as interested in buying ideas for exploring sewers as often as they would for regular dungeons.

That said, this is still a fun read, the art (by William Trasher, as usual) is hilarious, and there's a VERY unexpected table at the end.

So if your campaign ever visits a sewer, this sourcebook is definitely for you!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Sewer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 362 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates